SAIA, n.o.

Logo Good Idea


Organisation of study

Higher education institutions (HEIs) provide higher education in the framework of accredited study programmes in accordance with the law. The main teaching language is Slovak, however, there are programmes delivered also in foreign languages (mainly in English), mostly for international students.

Academic Year

The academic year begins on 1 September of the current year and ends on 31 August of the following year. It is composed of 2 semesters (winter semester lasts from September to January and summer semester lasts from February to June). Organisation of the academic year is set by the statute of the faculty or statute of the HEI.

Teaching Process and ECTS

Teaching process includes lectures, seminars, exercises, laboratory work, projects, practical training, consultations, etc. For the assessment of students' achievements, the credit system following the rules of the European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS) is used; it was introduced in 2002 for all levels and forms of higher education studies. Student's standard work load is expressed by the number of credits: 60 credits per academic year and 30 credits per semester. Every HEI determines the total number of credits required for the due completion of the study in its respective stages. Grading is based on the ECTS grading scale:

  • A – excellent = 1
  • B – very good (above average achievements) = 1.5
  • C – good (average achievements) = 2
  • D – satisfactory (acceptable achievements) = 2.5
  • E – sufficient (achievements meet only the minimum criteria) = 3
  • FX – fail (achievements do not meet even the minimum criteria) = 4


Levels of Study and Degrees Awarded in the Slovak Republic

Study programmes are usually offered in one of the three levels of higher education, but a HEI may join the first two levels of higher education into a single whole.

The first level of higher education are bachelor study programmes.

Study programmes of the second level of higher education and those of the first two levels of higher education joined into a single whole are:

  • master study programmes,
  • engineer study programmes,
  • doctor study programmes (note: this is not a PhD study!).

Study programmes of the third level of higher education are doctoral (PhD) study programmes.

All study programmes must be accredited in accordance with the law.

In accordance with the level of study, HEIs award the following academic degrees:

  • 1st level – Bachelor (comprising app. 180 credits)
    • "bakalár" (abbr. "Bc.").
  • 2nd level – Master (comprising app. 120 credits)
    • "magister" (abbr. "Mgr."), in the field of art "magister umenia" (abbr. "Mgr. art."),
    • "inžinier" (abbr. "Ing.") in technical, agricultural and economic fields of engineer's programmes, and in the field of architecture and town planning the academic degree of "inžinier architekt" (abbr. "Ing. arch."),
    • "doktor všeobecného lekárstva" (abbr. "MUDr.") in the field of human medicine,
    • "doktor zubnej medicíny" (abbr. "MDDr.") in the field of dentistry,
    • "doktor veterinárskeho lekárstva" (abbr. "MVDr.") in the field of veterinary medicine.
  • • 3rd level – PhD (doctoral level)
    • "philosophiae doctor" (abbr. "PhD."),
    • "artis doctor" (abbr. "ArtD.") in the field of art.